Posted in Somber Musings

Why Am I Not Mourning Cory Aquino’s Death?

Everybody I know is grieving the death of Cory Aquino. She has been called by many names, a symbol of democracy, president, wife, mom. I was in 4th grade when she became president but I was old enough to remember the importance of the spark that she ignited among the Filipino people to say, “no more!” against a dictator. But with that said, I don’t know why I don’t feel her loss as much as most people. My heart goes out to Kris and her siblings but on a personal level, I’m not really in mourning.

My parents believed that although Marcos did a lot of bad, he also did a lot of good. The Philippines was indeed economically more stable during his presidency. And I think my growing up with that idea in my mind made me less inclined to support Cory during her time. Or perhaps, it was because I was too young to understand what was going on and was willing to accept my parents’ opinions as my own, and never really outgrew it.

Whatever it is, I acknowledge the fact that the democracy my country is enjoying now is because of Cory’s passion to see it freed and I admire her for that. You won’t see tears in my eyes though. Th Philippines is safe in God’s hands. He is raising up people who will intercede for it day and night for healing and for revival.

Leave a comment